By: Bobbie Peers
Genre: YFB - General fiction (Children's/Teenage)
Published by: Walker Books
Published: 06/04/2017
ISBN: 9781406371703


Packed full of magical code-breaking skills, wisecracking robots and a young hero who might just be too clever for his own good, this tech-savvy adventure is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Alex Rider. Twelve year-old code breaking genius William Wenton, is trying to make sense of his family’s dramatic escape from their home in London.

But when his extraordinary talent for cracking codes is suddenly revealed, William must face the danger that has been lurking around him for years.


Twelve-year-old William is always getting into trouble. Only William is a genius, so the trouble he finds is usually big trouble.

William and his family are in hiding after his grandfather mysteriously disappeared eight years ago. When William can’t stop himself from cracking the Impossible Code at the Museum, his family’s life is turned upside down, as killer robots come after them.

This is a wonderfully entertaining novel that fans of fantasy and sci-fi will love. Fast paced and funny, with great gadgets, wonderful characters, lots of code breaking, and complete with a secret academy, this is a great book for readers in Years 7 and 8.

Reviewed by Michelle