Subtitle: The Prison Healer Book 2
By: Lynette Noni
Genre: YFH - Fantasy & magical realism
Published by: Penguin
Published: 28 Sep 2021
ISBN: 9781760897536


#1 bestselling Australian YA author Lynette Noni is back with the second book in the breathtaking Prison Healer trilogy!
'You need to choose, Kiva. It's him or us. Them or us. You can't have it both ways.'

Kiva Meridan is a survivor.

Not only did she survive Zalindov Prison, but also the deadly Trial by Ordeal. Now, Kiva's purpose goes beyond survival to vengeance. For the past ten years, her only goal was to reunite with her family and destroy the people responsible for ruining their lives. But now that she has escaped Zalindov, her mission has become more complicated than ever.

As Kiva settles into her new life in the capital, she discovers she wasn't the only one who suffered while she was in Zalindov - her siblings and their beliefs have changed, too. Soon it's not just her enemies she's keeping secrets from, but her own family as well.

Outside the city walls, tensions are brewing from the rebels, along with whispers of a growing threat from the northern kingdoms. Kiva's allegiances are more important than ever, but she's beginning to question where they truly lie. To survive this time, she'll have to navigate a complicated web of lies before both sides of the battle turn against her and she loses everything.

Purchase Online


Kiva has survived Zalindov prison and is slowly adjusting to life with her new found freedom. For ten years she has been waiting for vengeance on the Vallentis family for taking the throne from her family.

But now she finds herself living with the Vallentis family in the palace after Prince Deverick (Jaren to his family) helped her escape. And they are not the awful people she thought they were. Her two siblings, who she hasn't seen in ten years, have also changed and Kiva is not sure who she can trust anymore.

There seems to be more lies and secrets from both sides than she can deal with. Not to mention the complication caused be her falling in love with Jaren. Can she discover the truth before it’s too late?

The first book in this series was included in your April Standing Order selection, however this can also be read as a stand alone story. With so many twists and turns, this is a book that is hard to put down.

An enticing mixture of danger, mystery, romance and magic. It is a perfect story for readers 14+. I am now eagerly awaiting the final instalment in this trilogy, and I am sure you will be too.

Reviewed by Michelle