By: Mike Lucas
Genre: YFD - Horror & ghost stories, chillers
Published by: Penguin
Published: 31 May 2022
ISBN: 9781761045936


Witches only exist in stories. Everyone knows that. But what if the stories are real? FOUR FRIENDS. FOUR TRUTHS. ONE NIGHTMARE.

If you wander into the wood ...

If you hear scratching sounds from the Old Quarry ...

If you go too close to the edge ...


Purchase Online


Set now, but looking back to the Summer of 1976, and four friends shared experiences in south-west England.

The main character is Sammy, and his best friends back then were the tough and moody Grey, the smart and intuitive blind girl Stella - who Sammy definitely had a crush on, and the storytelling, asthmatic Charlie.

Their adventures centre more and more around the woods near their home and the legendary quarry. In particular the top point, Hag’s Drop, that has seen many young boys lose their lives falling from it over the years.

Could the legendary stories of the witches revenge, from many years ago, be true?

I can’t give away the storyline, but I can tell you that it deals with reality versus perception, truth versus stories. Did you see or hear what you think you did? Was it real? Was it just a story? Or do you believe it out of fear? Or something else? Can any of you trust what you saw?

This is a real edge of your seat rollercoaster ride, with fear, death and suspense.

Full of themes of friendship, family dynamics, mystery, witches and storytelling, this is a terrific story that is best suited to anyone aged 13 and older.

Reviewed by Rob